Reunited THE DARKNESS Debuts New Material During Intimate U.K. Club Show (Video)

Reunited British rockers THE DARKNESS made their U.K. live comeback last night (Sunday, June 5) in front of just 200 people at the Norwich Waterfront.

The band’s setlist was as follows:

01. Bareback
02. Black Shuck
03. Growing On Me
04. Get Your Hands Off My Woman
05. One Way Ticket
06. Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us
07. Love Is Only A Feeling
08. Is It Just Me?
09. Concrete
10. Cannonball
11. Stuck In A Rut
12. Givin’ Up
13. Friday Night
14. I Believe In A Thing Called Love
15. Love On The Rocks With No Ice

Fan-filmed video footage of THE DARKNESS premiering two new songs — “Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us” and “Cannonball” — during last night’s concert can be viewed below.

THE DARKNESS‘ appearance at this coming weekend’s Download festival at Donington Park in Leicestershire, United Kingdom will mark the band’s first festival appearance since splitting up in 2006.

THE DARKNESS will appear as special guests to headliners DEF LEPPARD on the opening night of the Download festival.

“The idea of playing Download terrifies us,” frontman Justin Hawkins said. “We played in an early slot on the main stage in 2003 and we were frightened then. It’s reassuring to know that nothing has changed.

“On a serious note, it’s the most rockest of festivals and the perfect place for us to begin the next phase of our journey,” he continued.

Prior to this event, THE DARKNESSJustin Hawkins, Dan Hawkins, Frankie Poullain and Ed Graham — spent time in an East Anglian studio working on tracks that will in time become the band’s third album.

THE DARKNESS‘ first album, “Permission To Land”, was released in 2003, hitting the No. 1 spot in the U.K. chart and winning “MasterCard British Album” at the 2004 Brit Awards (along with “Best British Group” and “British Rock Act”).

Between 2003 and 2006, THE DARKNESS was honored with many awards and accolades; along with three Brit Awards, the band won an Ivor Novello in 2004 for “Songwriters Of The Year”, four Kerrang! Awards, two Metal Hammer Awards, an MTV Europe Music Award and even an Elle Style Award in 2004 for “Most Stylish Band”.