RIOT: New Song Available For Streaming

Legendary U.S. metal band RIOT will release its new album, “Immortal Soul”, which will be released on October 21 in Japan via Marquee/Avalon; October 26 in Scandinavia; October 28 in Germany; Austria and Switzerland; October 31 in the rest of Europe; and November 22 in the U.S. and Canada through Steamhammer/SPV. The effort will be available as a limited digipack with two bonus tracks, double gatefold LP (colored blue vinyl) and regular jewel case.

“Immortal Soul” sees Tony Moore, Mark Reale, Don Van Stavern and Bobby Jarzombek — the lineup responsible for the band’s hugely acclaimed “Thundersteel” (1988) and “The Privilege Of Power” (1990) albums — reunited once more, together with Mike Flyntz who as the additional live guitarist helped bring these two acclaimed albums to life on stage.

RIOT is justifiably proud of its upcoming release. As bassist Don Van Stavern says, “‘Immortal Soul’ picks up where ‘Thundersteel’ left off, 20 years later! It has the same intensity, creativeness and passion that we put into our music. It’s another ballbuster and I can’t wait to unleash it on the masses.”

Guitarist Mike Flyntz is equally enthusiastic. “I have been performing the songs from the ‘Thundersteel’ era for over 21 years,” he says. “It has been an honor to write and record ‘Immortal Soul’ with Tony, Don, Bobby, and Mark. I am very proud of my contribution to this record and also very proud to play along with such inspirational musicians. I hope everyone enjoys this album as much as I do.”

Drummer Bobby Jarzombek says, “‘Immortal Soul’ is a special record for me because in all the years that I’ve been playing and recording various projects, I’ve never been completely involved in any other CD from the very first day of writing to the very last day of mixing. I’m really looking forward to the live shows, and including some new ‘Immortal Soul’ songs into the set along with the RIOT classics!”

Founding member and guitarist Mark Reale, who has been RIOT‘s guiding force since the band released “Rock City” over thirty years ago, is quick to pay tribute to vocalist Tony Moore‘s input. “To me, the close collaboration with each of our vocalists has always been the decisive aspect in any RIOT release,” he says. “That’s why it was absolutely inspiring for me at the studio that Tony directly took up many of my ideas and translated them brilliantly, or contributed his own suggestions from which our songs benefited greatly. He is simply the perfect RIOT frontman!”

And as Tony Moore himself points out, “It’s been nearly a quarter of a century since the five of us assembled in New York to create ‘Thundersteel’ and ‘The Privilege Of Power’, and the music world couldn’t be more different. The Internet led us not only to discover that those albums had taken a special place in the history of metal, but also put us back in touch — and the result is ‘Immortal Soul’, an album that is 100 percent true to the legacy of those 1980s recordings. It’s also packed with evidence of how we’ve all grown and changed as artists. It was recorded in five studios, in three different cities, and it’s absolutely a product of the most important changes in the recording industry over the last 20 years. We’re looking forward to sharing the details with our fans and friends around the world, along with the music. Enjoy!”

“Immortal Soul” track listing:

01. Riot
02. Still Your Man
03. Crawling
04. Wings Are For Angels
05. Fall Before Me
06. Sins Of The Father
07. Majestica
08. Immortal Soul
09. Insanity
10. Whiskey Man
11. Believe
12. Echoes
13. Johnny’s Back (live recording; digipack bonus track) *
14. Metal Soldiers (live recording; digipack bonus track) *

* Recorded live at the Sweden Rock Festival on June 6, 2009 in Sölvesborg, Sweden

“Still Your Man” is available for streaming using the SoundCloud player below.

The artwork was created by the band’s vocalist Tony Moore and can be seen below.

“Still Your Man” audio stream:


RIOT Still Your Man by Steamhammer/SPV