RIOT: New Song Premiers On Japanese Radio

“Riot”, a brand new song from the legendary U.S. metal band RIOT, was premiered on this weekend edition of Japan’s “Power Rock Today” radio show, hosted by Masa Itoh. You can now listen to the track in the YouTube clip below. The song comes off the RIOT‘s new album, “Immortal Soul”, which will be released on October 21 in Japan via Marquee/Avalon; October 26 in Scandinavia; October 28 in Germany; Austria and Switzerland; October 31 in the rest of Europe; and November 22 in the U.S. and Canada through Steamhammer/SPV. The effort will be available as a limited digipack with two bonus tracks, double gatefold LP (colored blue vinyl) and regular jewel case.

“Immortal Soul” track listing:

01. Riot
02. Still Your Man
03. Crawling
04. Wings Are For Angels
05. Fall Before Me
06. Sins Of The Father
07. Majestica
08. Immortal Soul
09. Insanity
10. Whiskey Man
11. Believe
12. Echoes

The artwork was created by the band’s vocalist Tony Moore and can be seen below.

With lineup changes knocking their momentum and the Eighties developing into a thrash-fest, a new-look RIOT bounced back in 1988 with the widely-acclaimed “Thundersteel”. Although the faces might have looked unfamiliar, with only guitarist Mark Reale now left from the band’s formative years, the aggression and musicianship remained unrivalled and unchallengeable. With Tony Moore‘s distinctive vocals, the muscle and might of bassist Don Van Stavern and drummer Bobby Jarzombek powering the songs along, and Reale‘s precision playing RIOT were reborn, and followed “Thundersteel” two years later with the jaw-dropping “The Privilege Of Power”, an inspiring and at times truly epic album. However, by this time the music world was turning into a very different place, and RIOT found themselves struggling against a tide of apathy. Reale continued to guide the ship through the next two decades, delivering albums of consistent, quality metal, culminating in 2006’s “Army Of One” — a true statement of intent, as if one were needed.

But the army of one is an army of five once more as RIOT‘s classic “Thundersteel” and “Privilege…” lineup has reunited, adding guitarist Mike Flyntz who played in the live band at that time.

RIOT has been confirmed as special guest on the first leg of HAMMERFALL‘s European tour this winter. The trek kicks off on October 26 in Copenhagen, Denmark, and ends on November 18 in Cologne, Germany. This will be the first time the legendary “Thundersteel” and “The Privilege Of Power” lineup of Tony Moore (vocals), Mark Reale (guitar), Mike Flyntz (guitar), Don Van Stavern (bass) and Bobby Jarzombek (drums) has played in Europe on a full tour, after the band’s celebrated one-off show at the Sweden Rock Festival in 2009.

Commented Olly Hahn, AR representative at Steamhammer: “Mark, Tony, Don, Bobby and Mike are really fired up once more, and ‘Immortal Soul’ will be a true successor to the legacy of ‘Thundersteel’ and ‘Privilege…’. Classic metal will never die, and who did it better than RIOT?”