ROLLINS BAND: ‘The End Of Silence Demos’ Released On Vinyl

Punk rock icon Henry Rollins has the released demo recordings for the classic third full-length album by his ROLLINS BAND, “The End Of Silence”, on vinyl via his 2.13.61 record company.

States Henry: “In February of 1991, my bandmates and I sought to the demo songs we had been working on for several months. We went in, played all the songs we had with the arrangements and lyrics such as they were at the time, put a few over dubs on, mixed it to a cassette and were done with it. In October of that year, we would record what became the actual ‘The End Of Silence’ album.

“Many years later, I contacted my engineer pal, Cliff Norrell, to see if he would give the tapes a more considered mix, thinking that it would perhaps be a good release of unheard music.

“We mixed the songs and they sounded pretty damn good. We released the tracks on CD and were done with the project.

“Several months ago, I got to thinking that perhaps some people would appreciate a vinyl version of these songs. The tapes had been in storage and well kept. I brought them to Oasis Mastering in Burbank, California to give them a listen and to see if it would be a legitimate endeavor. We listened down to the tapes and again, they sounded good and so we went forth and mastered all the tracks.

“After listening to these songs again after all these years, it reminded me of how good that lineup was and how lean and mean the demos sounded. I came to the conclusion that I preferred the demos to the actual album. Hell, we should have just released the demos and saved everyone a bunch of time and trouble.

“So, what you have here is the band with their soundman, Theo Van Rock, in the producer seat. This is a very full-on set of songs and we are very happy to be able to bring them to you on LP.

“While it is impossible to recapture the past, it is interesting to take advantage of a clear rendering of what was and bring it into the present. These demos are a good example of the advantage a band has when they do things themselves.

“We made an initial pressing of 950 of this 2LP set. 450 pressed in orange and yellow. The rest are in black. The LPs are 180-gram vinyl so the low end would be able to give you the proper beating you deserve!

“I hope you enjoy the trip.”

“The End Of Silence Demos” vinyl track listing:

Side A:

01. Low Self Opinion
02. Grip
03. Tearing

Side B:

01. You Didn’t Need
02. Almost Real
03. Obscene

Side C:

01. What Do You Do
02. Blues Jam

Side D:

01. Another Life
02. Just Like You
03. Human

To order a copy, go to this location.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *