RUINED SOUL One-Man Project Evolves Into A Full-Blown Band

Gothenburg, Sweden’s RUINED SOUL, which was started by Johnny Johansson a one-man metal project due to Johnny‘s focus on DISDAIN, has evolved into a full-blown band.

Commented Johnny: “Yes, RUINED SOUL was supposed to be a solo project, but… no more! The urge of playing these songs live and spending more time on RUINED SOUL has grown since day one. I really feel that it’s time to get this machine started. I can’t wait to get this machine going and get out there and play for you guys! The guys that complete the band are the right guys to play with, so I’m pretty excited.”

RUINED SOUL lineup (right to left in photo below):

* Johnny Johansson (DISDAIN) – Guitars
* Jonathan Thorpenberg (TRENCHES) – Guitar
* Janne Jaloma (DEALS DEATH) – Drums
* Patrik Johansson (ARISE) – Vocals

A bass player for the group has not yet been chosen.

RUINED SOUL filmed a video for the song “Rewind” on March 16 with Greenworks. The track comes off the band’s debut album, “My Dying Day”, which was released in 2010 via Suicide Records.

Greenworks previously helmed RUINED SOUL‘s music video for the track “My Dying Day”.

“My Dying Day” features guest appearances by the following musicians:

* Jonas Kjellgren (SCAR SYMMETRY)
* Matias Kupiainen (STRATOVARIUS)
* Niklas Stålvind (WOLF)
* Olof Mörck (NIGHTRAGE)
* Eric Rauti (DREAMLAND)
* Marios Iliopoulos (NIGHTRAGE)
* Benny Jansson (RIDE THE SKY)
* Jonas Hörnqvist (TREASURE LAND)
* Tobias Jansson (THE LAW)
* Patrik Johansson (ARISE)
* Peter Huss (SHINING)
* Janne Stark (CONSTANCIA)

Johnny has already written 10 songs for RUINED SOUL‘s as-yet-untitled forthcoming sophomore album. The CD, which is expected to be recorded later in the year, will feature guest appearances by the following musicians:

* Patrik Johansson (ARISE)
* Christofer Malmström (DARKANE)
* Carl Johan Grimmark (NARNIA, ROB ROCK)
* Jonas Jarlsby (AVATAR)
* Simon Andersson (ex-AVATAR)
* David Sücz (DEGRADEAD)
* Anders Nyström (DEGRADEAD)
* Jake Fredén (NOSTRADAMEUS)