Jimmy Page (LED ZEPPELIN), RUSH, AEROSMITH, Lemmy Kilmister (MOTÖRHEAD), Brian May (QUEEN), Kerry King (SLAYER), Tom Morello (RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE) and Slash (VELVET REVOLVER, GUNS N’ ROSES) are among the artists who have recorded video testimonials congratulationg METALLICA on the band’s 30th anniversary. You can see all the clips at this location.

As previously reported, METALLICA has released a four-song digital EP called “Beyond Magnetic”, consisting of the quartet of previously unheard tracks that the band unveiled in concert last week during its 30th-anniversary celebration. All four tunes — “Hate Train”, “Just A Bullet Away”, “Hell And Back” and “Rebel Of Babylon” — were recorded during the sessions for the band’s 2008 “Death Magnetic” album but left off the final track list.

The tracks are being released exclusively through iTunes in North America, and through iTunes and other digital retailers internationally.

The studio versions of all four songs — all rough mixes — were sent to METALLICA fan club members one at a time last week, after each song was performed live during each of the band’s four shows at the Fillmore in San Francisco.

The shows featured METALLICA playing songs from deep in their catalog, while welcoming guests like BLACK SABBATH‘s Ozzy Osbourne and Geezer Butler, Kid Rock, Lou Reed, JUDAS PRIEST‘s Rob Halford, ALICE IN CHAINSJerry Cantrell, former bassist Jason Newsted and many others to the stage.

The final show on Saturday (December 10) featured a performance by the very earliest lineup of the group.

Drummer Lars Ulrich also hinted on Saturday night that the band will make an announcement in January about a special interactive fan event in June of 2012.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *