RUSH Frontman Talks About Making Of ‘Clockwork Angels’ In New Video Interview

Bassist/singer Geddy Lee of Canadian rock legends RUSH sat down with Roadrunner Records for an exclusive video wherein he describes the world of “Clockwork Angels”, as well as discussing how the band’s lengthy “Time Machine” world tour (documented on the live album “Time Machine 2011: Live In Cleveland”) impacted the songwriting and recording process for the new CD, how their lyrical perspective has changed over the years, and what breakthroughs he’s made as a player in recent years. Check out the footage below.

RUSH‘s first new collection of original material in over five years and their first studio release via Anthem/Roadrunner Records, “Clockwork Angels”, will be released on June 12.

The recording of “Clockwork Angels” began in April 2010 with Grammy Award-winning producer Nick Raskulinecz (FOO FIGHTERS, DEFTONES) — who also collaborated with the band on their last studio album, 2007’s “Snakes Arrows”.

Lyrically, “Clockwork Angels” chronicles a young man’s quest across a lavish and colorful world of steampunk and alchemy as he attempts to follow his dreams. The story features lost cities, pirates, anarchists, an exotic carnival, and a rigid Watchmaker who imposes precision on every aspect of daily life. The novelization of “Clockwork Angels” is being written by science fiction writer Kevin J. Anderson in collaboration with RUSH drummer and lyricist Neil Peart.

“Clockwork Angels” track listing:

01. Caravan
02. BU2B
03. Clockwork Angels
04. The Anarchist
05. Carnies
06. Halo Effect
07. Seven Cities Of Gold
08. The Wreckers
09. Headlong Flight
10. BU2B2
11. Wish Them Well
12. The Garden