RUSH Kicks Off ‘Clockwork Angels’ Tour In New Hampshire; Video Available

Legendary Canadian rockers RUSH kicked off their Clockwork Angels world tour last night (Friday, September 7) at the Verizon Wireless Arena in Manchester, New Hampshire.

In addition to adding a lot of rarely played songs to their opening set, RUSH brought a string ensemble out on tour with the band for the first time ever in its career. Orchestrations provided by well-known arranger David Campbell were used on several tracks from the band’s new album, “Clockwork Angels”, and RUSH recreated that sound during last night’s concert.

In a recent interview with The Pulse Of Radio, RUSH guitarist Alex Lifeson said, “We can’t take a symphony. We’ll take a group of musicians — let’s say an efficient ensemble of strings. We’ll probably have about eight, somewhere between eight and 10 musicians. A couple of cellos and the rest will be violins.”

The setlist for last night’s concert:

Set One

01. Subdivisions
02. The Big Money
03. Force Ten
04. Grand Designs
05. The Body Electric
06. Territories
07. The Analog Kid
08. Bravado
09. Where’s My Thing?
10. Far Cry

Set Two (with string section)

11. Caravan
12. Clockwork Angels
13. The Anarchist
14. Carnies
15. The Wreckers
16. Headlong Flight
17. Halo Effect
18. Wish Them Well
19. The Garden
20. Manhattan Project
21. Red Sector A
22. YYZ
23. Working Man


24. Tom Sawyer
25. The Spirit of Radio

Check out fan-filmed video footage below.

RUSH’s North American tour will wrap on December 2 in Houston, Texas.

“Clockwork Angels” debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard album chart, selling 103,000 copies in its first week of release. The disc marked RUSH ‘s highest chart debut since 1993’s “Counterparts” , which also entered at No. 2.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *