SATYRICON Performs Brand New Instrumental Song At INFERNO Festival

Norwegian black metallers SATYRICON performed a brand new instrumental song, “Gynt”, at the start of their March 30 concert at the Rockefeller Music Hall at the Inferno festival in Oslo, Norway. The track will appear on the band’s next studio album, which is set for release on September 9.

Fan-filmed video footage of the first two songs of SATYRICON‘s set — “Gynt” and “Hvite Krists Død” — can be seen below.

The band’s setlist was as follows:

01. Gynt (intro) (new)
02. Hvite Krists Død
03. Walk The Path Of Sorrow
04. Filthgrinder
05. Forhekset
06. Repined Bastard Nation
07. Now, Diabolical
08. The Wolfpack
09. Black Crow On A Tombstone
10. The Pentagram Burns
11. The Sign Of The Trident
12. To The Mountains
13. Mother North


14. Fuel For Hatred
15. K.I.N.G.

Speaking to AOL‘s Noisecreep at this year’s Inferno festival, SATYRICON frontman Sigurd “Satyr” Wongraven stated about the band’s upcoming album: “Right now we’re about halfway through the recording, I’d say. It’s taking a long time. We essentially started pre-production in September, recording demos and working on those final arrangements. We started recording a couple of months ago and I’m really liking the way it sounds. To me, it sounds very authentic, it’s organic-sounding. And in this digital age where music is mostly played through computers, a lot of that analog vibe gets lost in translation when you play music through medias like that, but I still wanna do it because there’s nothing quite like it. To me, it just makes everything sound the way it’s supposed to sound — it’s dynamical; the music is alive, it’s not overly compressed, the levels are not pushed. So, musically speaking, it’s a very atmospheric record, but to me, part of what makes it atmospheric is the authenticity in the way that it’s made; it was recorded and played in a way that I think it’s gonna add… You would think that all records are musical, but they’re not, and I think this record is very musical. I know when I talk to the media about this new record that I’m supposed to say that it’s brand new or that it’s old school, but that’s not what it’s about for me. What it’s about is that this record is full of life. There are a lot of surprises here, but I think it’s gonna be a record that’s gonna help the black metal movement perhaps find a new way for the future. And we all need that, including ourselves.”

In a June 2012 interview with, Wongraven stated about the band’s decision to take a long break after completing its last extensive tour in 2009, “I felt that the cycle of SATYRICON had become very something different from what I wanted it to be. It became like this: write, rehearse, record, promote, tour, finish. [Then again] write, rehearse, record, promote, tour, finish. And again and again and again. And I came to a point in 2009 where I went, like, ‘What’s the point of this? Is this why I started [playing music]? Definitely not.’ This was never my goal to come in a situation like this. It’s not like I dreamt about living on a bus. It was not my goal in life. Or to live my life in a suitcase. Or in a backstage. It was never my plan. My plan was to write music, record music and release music and then do the occasional show and tour, but this became like a clusterfuck of events — all the time something going on and all this pressure all the time, especially from everyone around us. Plus, I also think that when you’re working so intensely, there’s sort of this tear-and-wear to people on a personal level. And also, as the leader of a company or a sports team or a metal band, you also have a responsibility to make some decisions that might be popular but unnecessary. And for those who just want to go on the road and play all the time, they don’t want to have a break, and our agent and record company, they certainly didn’t want any break. But for me, it became almost like a choice between quitting as a band or taking a break.”

SATYRICON‘s latest album, “The Age Of Nero” (2008), entered the German Media Control chart at position No. 73. It also landed on the national chart in Norway at position No. 5. This was SATYRICON‘s lowest chart entry in the band’s home country since “Rebel Extravaganza”, which premiered at No. 32 in 1999. “Volcano” (2002) entered the chart at No. 4, while 2006’s “Now, Diabolical” came in at No. 2.


Interview with Satyr:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *