SCOTT WEILAND’s Christmas Album Due Next Month

STONE TEMPLE PILOTS/ex-VELVET REVOLVER singer Scott Weiland will release a Christmas album, “The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year”, on October 4 via Rhino Records. According to a press release, the CD covers “a variety of styles including big band swing, orchestrated ballads, reggae, bossa nova and more, all delivered with surprising ease by Scott Weiland.”

“The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year” track listing:

01. The Christmas Song (3:16)
02. I’ll Be Home For Christmas (3:05)
03. White Christmas (2:23)
04. Silent Night (3:00)
05. It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year (2:20)
06. What Child Is This? (3:20)
07. Winter Wonderland (2:15)
08. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (2:35)
09. Happy Christmas And Many More (3:16)
10. O Holy Night (4:11)

“The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year” was described by Weiland in an August 2010 interview as “very traditional. You know, strings, upright bass, jazz horns, piano, and guitar. He added, “I’m sort of picking various versions of these songs, because they’ve been covered so many times, but my favorite versions — with a little twist.”

The upcoming album isn’t Weiland‘s first foray into holiday music. In December 2009 he released his cover version of “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” — made famous by Judy Garland in “Meet Me in St. Louis” — as a single. He also performed the song on “The Tonight Show With Jay Leno” back in 2006.