SENTINEL BEAST Announces New Guitarist

Reactivated ’80s Sacramento, California thrashers SENTINEL BEAST have announced the addition of guitarist Jake Nunn (HYSTERIA) to the group’s ranks.

SENTINEL BEAST was formed in Sacramento in 1984 by Debbie Gunn, Mike Spencer (bass), and Scott Awes (drums). During this time, the axes were played by Greg Williams and Jerry Fraiser, later to be replaced by Barry Fischel and Mark Koyasako. Discovered by Kerry King of SLAYER, the band recorded and released the influential “Depths of Death” album, on Metal Blade Records, in 1986 and the band later went on to open shows for the likes of SLAYER, EXODUS, MEGADETH, MERCYFUL FATE, KING DIAMOND, and others. The band broke up and Debbie Gunn departed for Chicago shortly after to front ZNOWHITE, then relocated to Europe to join the all-female thrash pioneers, ICE AGE.

SENTINEL BEAST‘s current lineup consists of Gunn, Steve Oliver on bass, Jake Nunn and Ken Korpi on guitar, and Mark Varian on drums.

Video footage of SENTINEL BEAST performing the song “Sentinel Beast” on September 12, 2010 at the Boardwalk in Orangevale, California. The band was rejoined for the performance by the original SENTINEL BEAST bassist Michael Spencer, who also previously played with FLOTSAM AND JETSAM.