SHOK PARIS: Video Footage Of UP THE HAMMERS VII Festival Performance

Fan-filmed video footage of SHOK PARIS‘ March 2, 2012 headlining performance at this year’s edition of the Up The Hammers VII festival at the An Club in Athens, Greece can be seen below. This was SHOK PARIS‘ first-ever live appearance in Greece.

“I would like to take the time to thank all of our fans in Greece and those that made the “Up the Hammers” show happen”, says SHOK PARIS vocalist Vic Hix. “It was a very special show for us.

“Over the years we have had contact with many fans from Greece asking us to come to their country to play. We were never sure it would happen, but thanks to festival organizer Manolis Karazeris and Bill [Peters] from Auburn, it did! We made the most of it because of the response of our fans there and for that SHOK PARIS wants to say THANK YOU! This has been one of the best shows we have ever done in Europe or anywhere else for that matter. The support and response we recieved from our Greek fans cannot be put into words. It may have taken 28 years to come and play Greece, but I assure you, it will not take that long for us to play Greece again. To our fans in Greece, you will always have a special place in the hearts of SHOK PARIS. A hail ‘Shok Athens’ to each and every one of you!”

“Not only was this the first time for SHOK PARIS playing Greece, it was also the very first time one of my Auburn bands played there, too,” adds Auburn Records president Bill Peters. “This was an unbelievable experience. The Greek metal fans more than lived up to their reputation of being the most passionate and enthusiastic heavy metal fans in the world. They were stage diving, headbanging and singing throughout the band’s entire set. SHOK PARIS played four encores, including one song twice by popular demand. The festival organizer Manolis and myself even joined the band onstage to sing the last encore. I was very happy for the band and Manolis, who is a big SHOK PARIS fan going back to his younger years. It was a magical and special moment for all of us. I’d like to thank Manolis, the Greek metal fans for making us feel so welcome and my Team Auburn Greece crew of Dina Rita and Giorgos Karagiannis for all of their behind-the-scenes help in making our first visit to Greece one of my most successful overseas trips ever.”

SHOK PARIS‘s Up The Hammers VII festival setlist:

01. Marseilles de Sade
02. Battle Cry
03. Steel And Starlight
04. Exhibit A
05. Concrete Killers
06. On Your Feet
07. Hot On Your Heels
08. Tokyo Rose
09. Go For The Throat
10. The Heat And The Fire
11. Décharge Électrique
12. Full Metal Jacket
13. Those Eyes
14. Castle Walls
15. Never Say Why
16. Chosen Ones
17. Find A Way Out


18. Go Down Fighting (w/intro)
19. Burn It Down
20. Run But Don’t Hide
21. Go Down Fighting

“Those Eyes”, the new digital single from SHOK PARIS, was released on February 24 via iTunes and other major digital retailers. It is the band’s first commercially available new music in 23 years. The song will appear on SHOK PARIS‘ fourth full-length album, “Full Metal Jacket”, which is scheduled for release later this year via Auburn Records. A live version of “Battle Cry”, recorded in Cleveland on May 1, 2010 at the Beachland Ballroom during a special performance of the SHOK PARIS‘ 1984 debut “Go For The Throat” album in its entirety, was released as the digital “B-side” to “Those Eyes”. Tony Alberts from Spectrum Sound recorded and mixed the live track. Cover art for both singles was designed by Claudia von Bihl.


Vic Hix – Vocals
Ken Erb – Guitar
John Korzekwa – Guitar
Ed Stephens – Bass
Donovan Kenaga – Drums








Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *