SIXX: A.M.: ‘This Is Gonna Hurt’ Video Released

“This Is Gonna Hurt”, the new video from SIXX: A.M. — the band consisting of Nikki Sixx (also of MÖTLEY CRÜE), DJ Ashba (also of GUNS N’ ROSES) and James Michael — can be seen below. The song is the title track of the group’s sophomore album, “This Is Gonna Hurt”, which sold 30,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to land at position No. 10 on The Billboard 200 chart. Released on May 3, the 11-track CD is a companion piece to Sixx‘s “This Is Gonna Hurt: Music, Photography And Life Through The Distorted Lens Of Nikki Sixx” book, a follow-up to his New York Times bestseller, “The Heroin Diaries”.

“This Is Gonna Hurt” is part photo, part journal — but all Nikki Sixx. It is a collection of compelling snapshots and stories that capture the rage, love, optimism, darkness, and determination that shape his work. Told with the raw authenticity that defined his New York Times bestseller “The Heroin Diaries”, “This Is Gonna Hurt” chronicles Sixx‘s experience, from references to his early years filled with toxic waste to his success with MÖTLEY CRÜE, his death from an OD and rebirth to his addictions to music, photography, and love along with the journey of photographing these images over the past couple of years.

The “This Is Gonna Hurt” album as a whole deals with many raw, human issues. Nikki talks about the CD as “pulling back the veil on your internal truth,” saying, “We are who we are… Either poisonous and evil or honest and willing… Willing to make a difference… I haven’t led the life of a saint nor do I intend on it now.” The album — produced entirely by James Michael with writing credits going to Sixx, Michael, Ashba and band friends John William Lowrey and Blair Daly — dives deep into meandering emotions through epic melodies. The resulting work is a deep, dark and intoxicatingly addictive mix of sounds and passion.

“This Is Gonna Hurt” album track listing:

01. This Is Gonna Hurt
02. Lies of the Beautiful People
03. Are You With Me
04. Live Forever
05. Sure Feels Right
06. Deadlihood
07. Smile
08. Help Is On the Way
09. Oh My God
10. Goodbye My Friends
11. Skin

Songwriting credits:

* This is Gonna Hurt (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)
* Lies Of The Beautiful People (Michael, Sixx, John William Lowrey, Ashba)
* Live Forever (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)
* Are You With Me Now (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)
* Sure Feels Right (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)
* Deadlihood (Michael, Sixx, Blair Daly)
* Smile (Michael, Sixx)
* Oh My God (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)
* Goodbye Dear Friends (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)
* Skin (Michael, Blair Daly)
* Help Is On The Way (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)