SNAKECHARMER: Debut Album Details Revealed

Frontiers Records has set a January 22, 2013 North American release date (three dates later in Europe) for SNAKECHARMER‘s self-titled debut album.

Formed in 2011 by former WHITESNAKE members Micky Moody and Neil Murray, SNAKECHARMER also includes Chris Ousey (HEARTLAND), Laurie Wisefield (ex-WISHBONE ASH, TINA TURNER), Adam Wakeman (OZZY OSBOURNE) and Harry James (THUNDER). With members gigging record breaking tours, earning double-platinum-selling albums and playing to crowds of 100,000.

“I met up with Neil Murray a couple of years ago and we spoke about playing a few gigs together for fun and old times’ sake,” says Micky Moody. “The obvious choice was early WHITESNAKE material, so when Neil suggested Laurie Wisefield and Harry James, I jumped at it. Chris Ousey was highly recommended and Adam had depped for COMPANY OF SNAKES some years back. We went out as MONSTERS OF BRITISH ROCK mostly performing the songs of early WHITESNAKE, THUNDER, HEARTLANDS and a Laurie Wisefield original and we caught the attention of Martin Darvill, head of QEDG Management, who suggested we record an album of original material, which we did. The result is SNAKECHARMER on the Frontiers label.”

Musically, this debut album is everything you would expect from musicians with such a pedigree: a finely crafted hard rock album with blues and melodic overtones, akin to WHITESNAKE (1979-’81 era), BAD COMPANY and with hints of early FOREIGNER as well.

“The songs on our debut album reflect the kind of music that the members of the band want to play, which is melodic rock with a blues influence,” says Neil Murray. “Each of us has played many different styles of music, and our influences are varied, but SNAKECHARME originally came together to play mainly early WHITESNAKE songs, so that is our starting point. There wasn’t a deliberate plan to write songs in a particular style; each song on the album started as a basic idea by one or two band members, and if the other guys were enthusiastic about the idea, then the song would be worked up into a finished song.”

“Snakecharmer” track listing:

01. My Angel
02. Accident Prone
03. To The Rescue
04. Falling Leaves
05. A Little Rock Roll
06. Turn Of The Screw
07. Smoking Gun
08. Stand Up
09. Guilty As Charged
10. Nothing To Lose
11. Cover Me In You
12. White Boy Blues *

* bonus track


Chris Ousey – Lead Vocals
Micky Moody – Guitar, Slide Guitar, Vocals
Laurie Wisefield – Guitar, Vocals
Adam Wakeman – Keyboards, Vocals
Neil Murray – Bass
Harry James – Drums, Vocals




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *