SOIL: ‘Amalgamation’ Lyric Video Released

The official lyric video for the song “Amalgamation” from Chicago heavy rockers SOIL can be seen below. The track comes off the band’s sixth studio album, “Whole”, which will be released on August 20 via Pavement Entertainment. It’s the band’s first 100% independent release.

“We wanted to call all the shots on this album and, for the first time ever, hold our future in our own hands,” explains bassist Tim King.

“Whole” is the first SOIL album with original frontman Ryan McCombs since 2004’s “Re.De.Fine” (after which he joined DROWNING POOL). It sees SOIL returning to its classic sound that fans have come to admire, with a pres release calling it the CD “that could have come directly after the ‘Scars’ album in 2001.”

Following the 2012 release of its first-ever live DVD, “Re-LIVE-ing The Scars”, SOIL began writing new material and entered the studio in February 2013 with producer Ulrich Wild (PANTERA, BREAKING BENJAMIN) to begin recording.

“This was by far the most comfortable and natural recording process we have ever experienced,” says guitarist Adam Zadel. “From the writing, pre-production, and through the main tracking and mixing, everything was smooth and fluid.”

Other songs featured on “Whole” include “The Hate Song”, “Loaded Gun” and “Way Gone”. Another track, “Amalgamation”, sees McCombs taking songtitles from both the SOIL and DROWNING POOL releases he was a part of and weaving them into verses of the song.

“I think, lyrically speaking, those that are familiar with the work I’ve done are going to get the next chapter that they would expect,” McCombs says about the lyrical process. “Words from a heart and mind that has lived them.

“One of the greatest things I experience as a lyricist is when people come up and share with me how a song, or a specific verse or line from a song, got them through a hard time or times in their lives. It reminds me of the times music did that for me and how powerful music and/or a lyric can be in a person’s life.”

Drums and percussion on “Whole” were performed by Will Hunt (BLACK LABEL SOCIETY, EVANESCENCE, DEVICE).

Will added a whole new dimension to the songs,” states King. “He added a monstrous and aggressive vibe to the album.”

A guest guitar solo on “Wake Up” was performed by longtime friend Mike Mushok of the band STAIND.

“Whole” track listing:

01. Loaded Gun
02. The Hate Song
03. Ugly
04. Way Gone
05. Psychopath
06. Shine On
07. Wake Up
08. Amalgamation
09. My Time
10. Little Liar
11. One Love

“Amalgamation” lyric video:


“Shine On” video:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *