BENT SEA, the grindcore formation lad by drummer/guitarist Dirk Verbeuren (SOILWORK, ABORTED, DEVIN TOWNSEND PROJECT), has been joined by legendary NAPALM DEATH bass player Shane Embury. Completed by vocalist Sven De Caluwé (ABORTED, SYSTEM DIVIDE), the trio is currently recording new music for several upcoming releases.

“Working with Shane is a dream come true for both Sven and myself,” said Verbeuren. “First Devin, now Shane — it doesn’t get much better than that in my book! We’re super-excited about our new songs and impatient to get them out there.”

Formed in January 2011 by Verbeuren, BENT SEA self-released its Devin Townsend-produced debut EP, “Noistalgia”, in November. Townsend played bass on the 11-song EP, which is due out shortly as a limited cassette via Tankcrimes. The digital version of “Noistalgia” is available directly from the band through their webstore.

Decibel magazine describes “Noistalgia” as “rousing, ripping, aptly-titled . . . a dead-on evocation of NAPALM DEATH and REPULSION, which remembers just how catchy and deceptively dynamic those old classic albums were.” calls it “grindcore done right” and says it’s BENT SEA‘s “firmly drawn allegiance to the old that makes this EP so great.”

“Noistalgia” track listing:

01. Noistalgia
02. Digital Disaster
03. Blast Beat Barrage
04. A Common Affliction
05. In One Word
06. Grind Control
07. Tripwire Target
08. Sustained Idiocy
09. Dead Meat
10. Truth Will Out
11. Fool For Life

“Noistalgia” (song) audio stream:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *