SONATA ARCTICA Presented With Gold-Album Plaques For ‘Stones Grow Her Name’


Finnish melodic metallers SONATA ARCTICA were presented with gold plaques for their seventh studio album, “Stones Grow Her Name”, on September 25 at Tavastia in Helsinki, Finland. Check out a photo below.

“Stones Grow Her Name” was certified gold in Finland for sales in excess of 10,000 copies. Released in Europe on May 18 and in North America on May 22 via Nuclear Blast Records, the CD was recorded in several studios all over Finland, mixed at Sonic Pump Studios by Mikko Karmila and mastered at Chartmakers by Svante Forsbäck. The effort was released as a limited-edition digipak, standard jewel case, vinyl and download.

Commented SONATA ARCTICA keyboard player Henrik “Henkka” Klingenberg: “This is our ninth gold disc from Finland.

“Although it’s not our first album to go gold in Finland, it always feels just as amazing that so many fans appreciate what we do.

“On behalf of the whole band, I’d like to thank you all who bought the album and thus helped us out.

“Our ‘Stones Grow Her Name’ world tour is well underway and I look forward to seeing you at the shows on the upcoming European and American tours as well as the places we’ll hit next year.”

“Stones Grow Her Name” sold around 2,100 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 9 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

“Stones Grow Her Name” track listing:

01. Only The Broken Hearts (Make You Beautiful)
02. Shitload Of Money
03. Losing My Insanity
04. Somewhere Close To You
05. I Have A Right
06. Alone In Heaven
07. The Day
08. Cinderblox
09. Don’t Be Mean
10. Wildfire II
11. Wildfire III


“I Have A Right” video: