SPAWN OF POSSESSION: ‘Incurso’ First-Week Sales Revealed

“Incurso”, the third full-length album from Swedish tech-death assassins SPAWN OF POSSESSION, sold around 700 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD debuted at position No. 63 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

Released on March 13 via Relapse Records, “Incurso” was recorded at Pama Studios in Kristianopel, Sweden with engineer Magnus “Mankan” Sedenberg.

According to a press release, “devastating riffs, jaw-dropping time-signatures and improbably complex songwriting coalesce to create an opus of next-level death metal on ‘Incurso’, which the band promises to be their most supreme work to date, and more devastating than ever.”

The “Incurso” cover art was created by graphic artist Pär Olofsson (IMMORTAL, IMMOLATION, DYING FETUS) and can be seen below.

“Incurso” track listing:

01. Abodement
02. Where Angels Go Demons Follow
03. Bodiless Sleeper
04. The Evangelist
05. Servitude Of Souls
06. Deus Avertat
07. Spiritual Deception
08. No Light Spared
09. Apparition

SPAWN OF POSSESSION is taking part in a month-long European tour in March as the support act for labelmates OBSCURA. Also appearing on the bill are GOROD and EXIVIOUS.

SPAWN OF POSSESSION (Jonas Bryssling: guitar, Dennis Röndum: vocals, Erlend Casperson: bass, Henrik Schönström: drums, Christian Münzner: guitar) formed in 1997 and has previously released two full-length albums. The band’s latest CD, “Noctambulant” (2006, Neurotic Records), received international critical acclaim for its blend of musical chops and unfettered extremity.

“Bodiless Sleeper” audio stream:


“Where Angels Go Demons Follow” audio stream: