STEELWING: Video Footage, Photos From The Studio

Swedish metallers STEELWING entered Leon Music Studios in Karlstad, Sweden earlier this month to begin recording their sophomore album for an early 2012 release via NoiseArt Records, a division of Rock The Nation. The as-yet-untitled CD is being helmed by Rikard Löfgren, who has previously worked with DEATHSTARS, MAMAKIN, ENFORCER and VOMITORY, among others.

Check out video footage from the studio below. Photos are available at this location.

According to a press release, STEELWING‘s new album “will take the post-apocalyptic heavy metal onslaught into outer space with a full on tribute to cult 1980’s science fiction movies.

“Fans of the previous album will not be disappointed by the intense twin-guitar riffage, supersonic metal screams and furious double-kick action, but the band promise more diversity and dynamics as well.

“Some of the song titles set to appear on the album are ‘Full Speed Ahead!’ and ‘Solar Wind Riders’, [both] of which have already been performed live this year to the approval of headbangers all over Europe.”

Commented the band: “Rikard was one of several possible producers suggested to us by our management, not someone we had initially considered but after looking into his previous works, we decided to meet with him earlier this year and discuss our ideas for a second album. We immediately felt confident that he was the right man for the job: as a metalhead, he understands our influences and what we want to achieve, but as a pop producer we also believe that he will be able to bring out the best in our songwriting.”

Bassist Skürk left STEELWING in February “due to life priorities that do not include any more extensive touring.” His replacement is Nic Savage, who was described in a press release as a “blond bass thrasher and devoted U.S. metal disciple.”

Left to right in photo below: Nic Savage, Alex Vega, Riley, Oskar, Robby Rockbag

STEELWING‘s debut album, “Lord Of The Wasteland”, was released in Europe on April 30, 2010 via NoiseArt Records. The CD was recorded at Deep Blue Studios with producer Nicko DiMarino. The album artwork was created by Ed Repka.