STORMZONE: ‘Zero To Rage’ Details Revealed

Irish metallers STORMZONE will release their new album, “Zero To Rage”, in Europe on November 21 via SPV/Steamhammer.

Commented STORMZONE vocalist John “Harv” Harbinson: “Apart from being a singer of heavy metal music for many years, I have also always been a huge fan of heavy metal, and I have no hesitation in saying that the new STORMZONE album, ‘Zero to Rage’ is something that as a singer I am immensely proud of and as a fan I would definitely go out and buy!”

The track listing for the follow-up to last year’s “Death Dealer” is as follows:

01. Where We Belong
02. Zero To Rage
03. Jester’s Laughter
04. This Is Our Victory
05. Fear Hotel
06. Hail The Brave
07. Uprising
08. Last Man Fighting
09. Empire Of Fear
10. Monsters
11. Voice Inside My Head
12. Cuchulainn’s Story

Formed in 2005 in Belfast by vocalist Harv, STORMZONE recorded its debut album soon after and secured a deal with U.K. rock label Escape Music who released “Caught In The Act” in 2007 (also released by Avalon/Marquee in Japan in the same year). The LP was a superb hard rock record was also essentially a “studio” band album with Harv and friends playing all instruments. The cover artwork for “Caught In The Act” was painted by famous fantasy artist Rodney Matthews. Rodney has also contributed the artwork for the new STORMZONE album “Death Dealer”.

It was not until later in 2007 that the full STORMZONE lineup was formed, essentially to tour in promotion of the debut album with all the musicians being from Belfast. Most had previously played in local bands except drummer Davy Bates. He was the sticks-man for legendary Belfast band SWEET SAVAGE (immortalized when METALLICA covered their “Killing Time” opus as the B-side of “The Unforgiven”).

For two years STORMZONE were on the road playing in Europe, including support slots with YT, WHITE LION, TESLA, GEORGE LYNCH, and L.A. GUNS. They also made appearances at various festivals, such as Firefest (UK), Sweden Rock, Lorca Rock (Spain), Z Rock (UK) and Raismesfest (France), before re-entering the studio in the summer of 2009 to record their second album.

STORMZONE attracted many friends with the debut album including admiration from legendary producer/DJ Neal Kay who saw in the band the same early signs of stardom shown by another group he discovered, IRON MAIDEN! With the band playing live constantly they inevitably hardened up their sound so the new recordings came out much more aggressive than the first album but still kept the quality, melody and harmony of before. Co-produced by Neal Kay, “Death Dealer” was finished towards the end of 2009 and released in April 2010.


Chris Polin – Guitar
Keith Harris – Guitar
John “Harv” Harbinson – Lead Vocals
Graham McNulty – Bass
Davy Bates – Drums