SULLY ERNA’s ‘Avalon’ Limited-Edition Box Set And Single DVD ‘Avalon Live’ Due In December

Sully Erna, best known as vocalist and songwriter for the multi-platinum rock band, GODSMACK, will release a limited-edition box set of his 2010 deeply personal solo debut, “Avalon”.

The treasure chest that is the “Avalon” limited-edition box set contains 5 DVDs — the double disc, “Avalon Live”, shot December 16, 2011 in Boston at The Wilbur Theatre in 2D, on Standard and Blu-ray; “The Making Of Avalon Live”, a 40-minute documentary of behind the scenes footage from the concert in December; “The Journey To Avalon” documentary — an hour-long version of the acclaimed doc seen on Palladia, and a bloopers-and-outtakes DVD of Sully in the studio along with videos from “Avalon”. The box also contains 2 CDs — “Avalon”, the studio album, and “Avalon Live”, the live show from Boston. Other items include an autographed limited edition coffee table book, an updated version of Sully‘s personal memoir, “The Paths We Choose”, a limited-edition poster from the Wilbur show and a limited edition t-shirt, a Sully Erna hat and necklace, commemorative backstage pass from the 2010 tour, a guitar pick, and custom hand-made incense chosen by Sully.

Directed and produced by longtime GODSMACK/Sully director Daniel E. Catullo III (GODSMACK‘s “Changes” DVD, RUSH‘s “Rush In Rio” DVD, NICKELBACK), the show was produced as both a 2D and 3D special (release date for the the 3D version to be announced). It is priced at $249, but the first 1,000 people to pre-order will get it for $199. The box set is an amazing array of products and one-of-a-kind items that are a must-have for any Sully fan. Five “golden tickets” will be hidden in the boxes that offer grand prize luxury trips with Erna himself to Napa, Boston, New York, Las Vegas, and Avalon/Catalina Island. Many more amazing prizes such as guitars and handwritten lyrics can also be won with no purchase required. Register now at Only 5,000 box sets will be made, each individually numbered.

“Avalon Live”, the concert from The Wilbur Theatre in Boston, will air on Palladia November 16 (check local listings). A single disc version in standard and Blu-ray of the concert will also be released December 18 and is available for pre-order at

The seeds for “Avalon” were planted back when Erna was in pre-GODSMACK outfit STRIP MIND, discovering Australian world fusion band DEAD CAN DANCE‘s 1993 album “Into The Labyrinth”. Their “eclectic, mystical, hand drumming” approach filtered into GODSMACK hits like “Voodoo” and “Serenity”. From there, an organic process of assembling the right musicians began. Erna recruited DEAD CAN DANCE percussionist Niall Gregory and long time friend and blues vocalist Lisa Guyer, each of whom introduced the guitarists, keyboardists and cellists that would fill out “Avalon”‘s diverse sound.

Track listing for “Avalon Live” CD and DVD:

01. Avalon
02. Sinner’s Prayer
03. Broken Road
04. The Departed
05. My Light
06. Cast Out
07. Piano Solo
08. Until Then
09. The Rise
10. Eyes Of A Child
11. 7 Years
12. Serenity
13. The Chain
14. Hey Jude




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *