THE 69 EYES: ‘Red’ Video Released

“Red”, the new video from Helsinki, Finland-based gothic metallers THE 69 EYES, can be seen below. The clip, which features a special message from the Mistress Of The Dark herself, Elvira, was filmed in July with Patric Ullaeus of Revolver Film Company, who has previously worked with DIMMU BORGIR, LACUNA COIL, IN FLAMES, SONIC SYNDICATE and KAMELOT, among others.

Commented THE 69 EYES singer Jyrki69: “We’ve known the director Patric for years and been talking nearly a decade of doing a video with him. So it was about the time finally! Since the whole new upcoming album, ‘X’, is our ‘made in Sweden’ record, it was natural to shoot a video with a Swedish director and in Sweden. I really loved David Fincher‘s movie ‘The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’, which is set in Sweden and wanted some of that kind of vibe to be in this video, too.

“We shot the video in the Bjertorp Slott mansion outside of Gothenburg. It’s a mystery scene in the most beautiful Swedish countryside with fast sports cars, Playboy playmates and the Helsinki Vampires!

“When THE 69 EYES make videos, it always is more based on pleasure in contrary to the recording session. And that’s how it was again this time!”

He added, “Vampira, Tura Satana and Elvira, Mistress Of The Dark (official). The concept of THE 69 EYES is based on the evil beauty of these women.

“I was a member of Elvira fan club ever since I saw her on the cover of Fangoria in the mid-’80s. I had a life-size poster of her in the black lingerie in a coffin on my wall for years. Fuck it, I should put it back, just to celebrate the fact that finally I feel like THE 69 EYES made it — Elvira‘s supporting us!”

Regarding the “Red” musical and lyrical approach, Jyrki69 said: “This is THE 69 EYES at the most melodic but even more than that, the most intense. The song has a very intense feeling, you know, like when your heart beats wild (red), when the world circles around you and when you find out the painful truth. Think of those scenes in the movies like ‘Vertigo’ or ‘Vanilla Sky’. Something’s broken and there’s nothing you can do about it. It’s a very epic and emotional song.”

“Red” is the first single from THE 69 EYES‘ new album, “X”, which will be released in Europe on September 28 via Nuclear Blast Records. The CD was mixed by Stefan Boman (THE HELLACOPTERS, BULLET).

Regarding the album title, singer Jyrki69 said, “We’ve never really celebrated anything, not that we’ve been playing 20 years or so (vampires don’t count decades). Thus this time we thought to celebrate a bit: the new album is entitled as tenth in Roman numbers, it’ll be called ‘X’.”

On the topic of the “X” cover artwork, Jyrki69 said, “The cover is pure goth ‘n’ roll: a psychedelic mirror image of old wild animal bones with our X-tagram projected over all. It’s good, evil, magic and voodoo all together! Something to stare at when tripping on the album.”

“X” track listing:

01. Love Runs Away
02. Tonight
03. Black
04. If You Love Me The Morning After
05. Red
06. I Love The Darkness In You
07. Borderline
08. I’m Ready
09. I know What You Did Last Summer
10. When A Love Comes To An End

Bonus DVD

* Red (video)
* Made In Sweden – Stockholm THE 69 EYES (documentary)



Photo credit: Pauli Rouvinen


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *