THE CHANT: New Song Available For Streaming

“The Black Corner”, a brand new song from the Finnish atmospheric rock act THE CHANT, can be streamed in the YouTube clip below. The track comes off the band’s third album, “A Healing Place”, which will be released via Lifeforce Records on the following dates:

August 14: North America + digital
August 17: Germany, Austria, Switzerland
August 20: Europe excluding Finland
August 22: Scandinavia

“A Healing Place” track listing:

01. Outlines
02. Spectral Light
03. Riverbed
04. The Black Corner
05. Ocean Speaks
06. Distant Drums
07. My Kin
08. Regret

THE CHANT is a seven-member band from Finland. The current lineup has been existence since 1999, but it took some years and a couple of demo recordings before the group’s debut album, “Ghostlines”, was released in 2008. It already based on this unique melancholic music full of beautiful melodies and harmonies, THE CHANT have become known for. With “This is The World We Know” (2010), the Finns strengthened their approach of playing atmospheric rock with gothic and progressive influences.

The majority of the songs for “A Healing Place” were recorded by THE CHANT themselves and showcase a band going deeper into an even more complexand layered sound with unexpected twists and an arcane ambience. The Finns take their listeners into a place where they have to fumble ingrey mist, before being able to see all the shades of color. The agonizing sides of life have to be faced, before being able to clean oneself from them. The seemingly positive exterior of “A Healing Place” hides bitter and dismal moods.

With “A Healing Place”, the Helsinki-based septet takes a stand as one of Finland’s progressive rock bands people have to be aware of. Based on a deeply atmospheric, almost cinematic sound, THE CHANT rely on dreamy guitarmelodies, spherical piano-playing and a remarkable voice. This album full of soundscape-driven, ambitious rock music should please fans of ANATHEMA, PARADISE LOST, KATATONIA, PORCUPINE TREE and A PERFECT CIRCLE.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *