THE CORY SMOOT EXPERIMENT: Another Song Available For Streaming

“When Worlds Collide”, the full-length album from THE CORY SMOOT EXPERIMENT — the solo project of GWAR guitarist Cory Smoot before his untimely death last fall — will be released on June 5 via Metal Balde Records.

THE CORY SMOOT EXPERIMENT‘s CD was recorded in 2010 at Cory‘s Karma Studios, where GWAR, MUNICIPAL WASTE and many others have laid down tracks. The songs were originally meant for a concept album called “Religion Is Fiction”. Cory was going to lay down all the tracks and then get some of his favorite singers from the internationally acclaimed Richmond metal scene to do the vocals, including GWAR lead singer Dave Brockie and LAMB OF GOD‘s Randy Blythe. Unfortunately, this didn’t happen due to scheduling problems, but that didn’t mean the end of the project. Cory went ahead and recorded the vocals himself and renamed the project THE CORY SMOOT EXPERIMENT, completing the entire package just before his final tour with GWAR in the fall of 2012.

After his passing, GWAR and Metal Blade set up the Smoot Family Fund to help provide for Cory‘s family. All proceeds from this album will be donated to this fund.

Metal Blade Records Chairman and CEO Brian Slagel commented on the album’s release: “Metal Blade Records is donating all the proceeds of the Cory Smoot solo album to the Smoot family. Please help us by getting the CD and enjoying the immense talent he was.”

Dave Brockie, a.k.a. Oderus Urungus, lead singer of GWAR, shared his memories of Cory: “Cory Smoot is one of the great unsung heroes of metal. His musical abilities transformed GWAR from a splatter-thrash phenomena into a top metal act. And though he may have left us way too early, he left us a lifetime of music to listen to. He tore it up like few others, and will always be remembered as the true Flattus Maximus. We really loved the man, and there is not a day that goes by or a GWAR show that is played where he is not sorely missed”

“When Worlds Collide” track listing:

01. The Blood Red
02. Fortunate Son
03. Religion is Fiction
04. Rebirth
05. Brainfade
06. Mandatory Purgatory
07. Countdown To Oblivion
08. The Gauntlet
09. When Worlds Collide
10. Mutilation
11. Hollow Tree
12. Sloth Loves Chunk

The song “Mutilation” can now be streamed using the SoundCloud player below (courtesy of

Smoot died from a coronary artery thrombosis brought about by his pre-existing coronary artery disease

Cory, who had played the character of Flattus Maximus for over ten years, was discovered dead on the band’s tour bus on November 3, 2011. He was 34 years old.

Smoot joined GWAR in 2002 and first appeared on the band’s 2004 album “War Party”. He was the fifth guitarist to play the character of Flattus Maximus, known by his red face, white dreadlocks, dinosaur-head shoulder pads and reptile feet.

Born August 25, 1977, Smoot previously played in metal bands MISGUIDED and LOCUS FACTOR and continued to play with MENSREA, in addition to establishing his own solo project, THE CORY SMOOT EXPERIMENT.

“Mutilation” audio stream:


“Countdown To Oblivion” audio stream: