THE MAN-EATING TREE: New Album Artwork, Release Date Revealed

THE MAN-EATING TREE — the atmospheric metal band featuring former SENTENCED drummer Vesa Ranta alongside current/former members of POISONBLACK, REFLEXION and EMBRAZE — will release its sophomore album, “Harvest”, on November 28 via Century Media Records. The CD was once again helmed by producer Hiili Hiilesmaa (HIM, SENTENCED, AMORPHIS) and marks the recording debut of guitarist Antti Karhu.

THE MAN-EATING TREE will support AMORPHIS on a European tour which will kick off on December 26 in Jens, Germany. Also scheduled to appear on the bill is LEPROUS.

Commented vocalist Tuomas Tuominen: “Some of you already got the chance to meet [Antti] briefly on our late summer shows. The fine young man was welcomed to our lineup during the spring to play some mean guitar. He brings a style of playing that ranges through the far reaches of our music with ease. Soulful in one moment, packing all the needed punch in the next.

“The new recording and the strengthened lineup are not the only things that have come to a completion during the past few months.

“The album will be released worldwide through Century Media Records, with whom we inked a record deal in the summer.

“Good to work with the Century Media people; the warmth and dedication in their work matches that of ours.”

THE MAN-EATING TREE‘s debut album, “Vine”, was released in Finland on September 22, 2010 via Cobra Records and in other territories through Century Media Records. The CD was recorded at Mastervox Studio in Oulu, Finland with producer Hiili Hiilesmaa (HIM, SENTENCED, AMORPHIS).

According to the group’s official bio, THE MAN-EATING TREE was formed when “Vesa Ranta, having taken a break from music after SENTENCED, began to overcome his post-SENTENCED battle fatigue and lack of musical motivation. The idea of a new band — or bands — was eventually brainstormed over a period of time between Vesa and his friends, including gentlemen Miika Tenkula, Aaron Rantonen, Janne Markus and Mikko Uusimaa. Plans were made reality in 2009; the outfit was completed by the addition of Tuomas Tuominen as a vocalist and Heidi Määttä as a keyboard player. First demo recordings were made in the spring and summer of 2009.


Tuomas Tuominen (ex-FALL OF THE LEAFE) – Vocals
Janne Markus (POISONBLACK) – Guitar
Antti Karhu – Guitar
Mikko Uusimaa (REFLEXION) – Bass
Heidi Määttä (ex-EMBRAZE) – Keyboards
Vesa Ranta (ex-SENTENCED) – Drums

For more information, visit