THIS OR THE APOCALYPSE: ‘Hate The Ones You Love’ Video Released

“Hate The Ones You Love”, the new video from the Lancaster, Pennsylvania quintet THIS OR THE APOCALYPSE, can be seen below. Directed by David Brodsky of Brooklyn’s MyGoodEye Music Visuals (HELLYEAH, THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER, GOATWHORE, MUNICIPAL WASTE, SUFFOCATION), the clip is about a group of young post-society survivors unable to cope with the task of killing a stranger who wanders into their territory. All of their coping mechanisms start to unravel.

Commented THIS OR THE APOCALYPSE frontman Rick Armellino: “‘Hate the Ones You Love’ was the first complete track that we knew would end up on ‘Dead Years’ and it helped frame the rest of the album. The lyrics themselves are about how often I find myself mistrusting or even disliking people who remind me of myself, and what it’s like to try and remain trusted to those you love when you can’t accept who you are. Writing a script around the lyrical themes and acting for the first time seemed risky but the final product really matches what we are trying to do. Brodsky is an artist; I can’t describe how cool it was working with him. Hope you guys dig it!”

THIS OR THE APOCALYPSE is currently supporting California metal titans IMPENDING DOOM on their The Chaos Reborn Tour. Other support acts include THICK AS BLOOD, FIT FOR A KING, THE BROWNING and HEARTS HANDS.

“Dead Years”, the third album from the THIS OR THE APOCALYPSE, sold around 1,600 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 14 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

“Dead Years” was released in Europe on September 24, 2012 via Lifeforce Records. Produced by Andreas Magnusson (THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER, HASTE THE DAY), the CD was made available in North America one day later through eOne Music.

THIS OR THE APOCALYPSE is: Rick Armellino (vocals), Jack Esbenshade (guitar), Matthew Marcellus (bass, vocals) and Rodney Phillips (guitar, vocals).