TO/DIE/FOR: Cover Version Of IGGY POP’s ‘Cry For Love’ Available For Streaming

Finnish gothic metallers TO/DIE/FOR have inked a deal with Massacre Records. The band’s sixth album, “Samsara”— which was made available in Finland last December — will receive a wider European release during the summer.

“Samsara” track listing:

01. Kissing The Flames (4:49)
02. Damned Rapture (5:12)
03. Cry For Love (IGGY POP cover) (4:21)
04. Death Comes in March (3:13)
05. Folie á Deux (7:11)
06. Hail Of Bullets (4:25)
07. Love’s A Sickness (5:54)
08. Raving Hearts (3:48)
09. Oblivion: Vision (6:13)
10. Someday Somewhere Somehow (6:38)

TO/DIE/FOR‘s cover version of IGGY POP‘s “Cry For Love” can be streamed in the YouTube clip below.

Regarding the musical direction of the new material, vocalist Jape Perätalo previously stated, “[The next TO/DIE/FOR CD] is gonna be much darker compared to [2006’s] ‘Wounds Wide Open’, but it will include some rocking ones, too.”

He added, “We are not trying to create anything very ‘technically nice’ and very ‘new’… We just record whatever the fuck we want to . . . We’re gonna keep things simple but one thing is important for us… it must have real soul in it!”

TO/DIE/FOR‘s current lineup is as follows:

Jape Perätalo – Vocals
Juppe Sutela – Guitar
Antza Talala – Guitar
Eza Viren – Bass
Matti Huopainen – Drums
Juska Salminen – Keyboards

TO/DIE/FOR released a “best-of” collection, “Epilogue From The Past – Best Of”, in January 2011 via Spinefarm Records. Included on the set was the brand new song “Angelica”.

TO/DIE/FOR‘s fifth album, “Wounds Wide Open”, was released in Finland in October 2006. The follow-up to 2005’s “IV” was recorded by Samu Oittinen at Fantom Studios and by Jari-Jukka Nippala at Sonic Image, and was mixed at Sweden’s Abyss Studios by Peter Tägtgren (DIMMU BORGIR, CELTIC FROST).

“Cry For Love” (IGGY POP cover) audio stream:


“Hail Of Bullets” video: