TRIALS To Release ‘In The Shadow Of Swords’ In May

Chicago modern metallers TRIALS will release their sophomore album, “In The Shadow Of Swords”, on May 1. The follow-up to 2011’s “Witness To The Downfall” sees the band take its blend of forward-thinking metal and muscular, technical thrash to the next level. TRIALS has truly upped the ante where aggression, songwriting and sheer metallic power are concerned. Look no further than the album’s lead single, “Believers in Black”, for proof of the band’s progression.

“In The Shadow Of Swords” is the first TRIALS release to feature guitarist Ryan Bruchert (ex-HEWHOCORRUPTS), who joined the band last year. The CD was recorded at Wall 2 Wall Studios in Chicago and at TRIALS‘ home studio, with mixing and mastering courtesy of Lasse Lammert at LSD Studios in Lübeck, Germany. The album’s artwork was created by Chris Angelucci with Mark Sugar and Usha Rajbhandari.

“In The Shadow Of Swords” will be offered in digital and CD formats. The digital version includes a ripping cover of JUDAS PRIEST‘s “Jawbreaker” as a bonus track, while the CD release will feature an additional TRIALS song, “Spirit Leaves”, as a bonus.

“In The Shadow Of Swords” track listing:

01. Conjoined
02. Believers in Black
03. Blueprints of Metaphor
04. In the Misery Machine
05. With Only Sorrow Now
06. All the Promises
07. Upon this Day
08. Ancestor
09. Embracing Nothing
10. Jawbreaker (digital release only)
11. Spirit Leaves (CD release only)


Mark Sugar (guitar/vocals)
Ryan Bruchert (guitar)
Usha Rajbhandari (bass)
Adam Kopecky (drums)