U.K. Rock Legends SWEET Revisit ‘Desolation Boulevard’ With New Live CD

Hot on the heels of their recent critically acclaimed album release “New York Connection”, U.K. rock legends SWEET have released a new live CD only available by digital download.

Performing the band’s most famous and influential album from 1974, “Desolation Boulevard”, live, SWEET‘s “Desolation Boulevard Revisited” recaptures the album in concert with all of the raw energy that can only come from a live performance.

Originally titled “Sweet Fanny Adams” in the U.K., the 1974 U.S. release of the album, re-titled “Desolation Boulevard”, was a turning point for the band featuring, for the first time, more of a hard rock sound. The album yielded classic hits such as “Ballroom Blitz”, “Fox On The Run” and “The Six Teens”, catapulting the band to international stardom.

Says original member Andy Scott: “SWEET‘s ‘Desolation Boulevard’ album was groundbreaking back in 1974 and proved to be a major influence on soon to be famous rock bands such as KISS, MÖTLEY CRÜE, DEF LEPPARD and many more. The album was a tightly produced collection of power-pop, heavy-rock, radio-friendly tunes that still sound great today. This was the album that accelerated SWEET into a major headlining touring band in the ’70s, a testament of anyone who saw the band ‘live.’ Several of the songs from the album have been covered by other artists which pays true homage to a great band. Now in 2013, we have ‘Desolation Boulevard Revisited’. A ‘live’ album release, almost 40 years on from the original but sounding as fresh as the day the songs were conceived. This is a ‘must’ for SWEET fans everywhere!”

With worldwide album sales of more than 55 million copies, SWEET have notched 34 No. 1 smashes across the globe as part of a run of timeless hits that includes “Blockbuster!”, “Hell Raiser”, “The Ballroom Blitz”, “The Six Teens”, “Action”, “Fox On The Run” and “Love Is Like Oxygen”. Seen on “Top Of The Pops” on what felt like a weekly basis throughout the 1970s, their über-harmonious, multi-tracked guitar work and layered production was to provide inspiration to other acts such as QUEEN, the ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA and, in later decades, DEF LEPPARD, MÖTLEY CRÜE and THE DARKNESS.

“Desolation Boulevard Revisited” track listing:

01. Sweet F.A.
02. Heartbreak Today
03. The Six Teens
04. Restless
05. No You Don’t
06. Into The Night
07. AC-DC
08. Fox On The Run
09. Set Me Free
10. Ballroom Blitz

Check out audio samples at Amazon.com.


Andy Scott – Guitar, Vocals
Pete Lincoln – Lead Vocals, Bass
Bruce Bisland – Drums, Vocals
Tony O’Hora – Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals