VAN HALEN Gets Heavy With ‘China Town’

A 90-second sample of “China Town”, a brand new song from VAN HALEN, can be streamed in the YouTube clip below. The track comes off the band’s new album, “A Different Kind Of Truth”, which will arrive on February 7 via Interscope.

“A Different Kind Of Truth” track listing:

01. Tattoo
02. She’s The Woman
03. You And Your Blues
04. China Town
05. Blood And Fire
06. Bullethead
07. As Is
08. Honeybabysweetiedoll
09. The Trouble With Never
10. Outta Space
11. Stay Frosty
12. Big River
13. Beats Workin’

The deluxe-edition version of “A Different Kind Of Truth” will contain a bonus DVD featuring four brand new acoustic-performance videos titled “The Downtown Sessions” including the songs “Panama”, “You And Your Blues”, “You Really Got Me” and “Beautiful Girls”.

A 90-second excerpt of another VAN HALEN song called “Blood And Fire” was posted online earlier this week, and it turns out that the track is yet another reworking of an older, more obscure track. A recording has been found on YouTube of an instrumental called “Ripley” that dates back to 1984 and was heard on the soundtrack of a movie called “The Wild Life” which starred the late Chris Penn and was written by Cameron Crowe, who went on to direct “Jerry Maguire” and other films.

Guitarist Eddie Van Halen wrote a score for the movie, but only one song called “Donut City” was issued on the soundtrack. The rest of Eddie‘s music can be heard throughout the film.

“Blood And Fire” is taken from “A Different Kind Of Truth”, which is VAN HALEN‘s first album in 13 years and first with original singer David Lee Roth since 1984. It’s the fourth track from the disc that’s confirmed to have its roots in older material.

First single “Tattoo” is based on an unreleased 1977 track called “Down In Flames”, while “She’s The Woman” was first recorded on a 1976 demo. Another tune called “Bullethead” also dates back to the group’s early days.

VAN HALEN kicks off a North American tour on February 18 in Louisville, Kentucky.



(Thanks: NJthrasher)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *