Virgin Steele To Re-Release “Age Of Consent” On CD & LP

Photo of Virgin Steele

U.S. power metal band Virgin Steele will re-release the band’s 1988 album “Age of Consent” on both 2CD digipak and double gatefold blue vinyl format. The re-packaged LP, complete with new photos and unreleased bonus tracks is set for release, on November 22, 2011 (North America), November 25, 2011 (Germany) and November 28, 2011 (EU) through SPV/Steamhammer Records.

Singer David DeFeis commented on the re-release: “Our good Friends over at SPV will be re-issuing our AGE OF CONSENT album in November 2011. To me ‘Age Of Consent’ is the album that I usually refer to as…’the one that got away album’ in our career. When it was originally released it was sent out into the World without any promotion or fanfare, much like a soldier, catapulted onto a battlefield, naked and without any weapons. Because of this many people were completely unaware of its existence. Therefore we are absolutely over the moon about being able to present it to you once again. For this re-issue, I have re-mastered all the songs from the original source tapes, and…added several more “Bonus Tracks”. Some of the bonus material features brand new compositions, and other tracks are covers that have been re-arranged and in some cases re-written. We hope that you will join us in celebrating our anniversary, and….we hope you will enjoy play at maximum volume…these Barbaric-Romantic creations….”

The track listing for “Age of Consent” is:


1. The Burning of Rome (Cry For Pompeii)
2. Let it Roar
3. Prelude to Evening
4. Lion in Winter
5. Stranger at the Gate
6. Perfect Mansions (Mountains of the Sun)
7. Coils of the Serpent
8. Serpent’s Kiss
9. On the Wings of the Night
10. Seventeen
11. Tragedy
12. Stay on Top
13. Chains of Fire
14. Desert Plains
15. Cry Forever
16. We Are Eternal


1. Screaming for Vengeance (Bonus Track)
2. The Curse (Bonus Track)
3. Breach of Lease (Bonus Track – previously unreleased)
4. Another Nail in the Cross (Bonus Track – previously unreleased)
5. A Changling Dawn (Noble Savage Acoustic Version) (Bonus Track – previously unreleased)
6. Under the Graveyard Moon (Bonus Track – previously unreleased)
7. Down by the River (Bonus Track – previously unreleased)