WHIPLASH Frontman Discusses Upcoming Album On ‘Axis Of Metal’ Podcast (Audio)

The latest edition of the “Axis Of Metal” podcast features an interview with founding member of WHIPLASH, Tony Portaro. You can now listen to the podcast using the Mixcloud player below.

WHIPLASH is currently working on material for its new album, “Sonic Asylum”, for a tentative late 2012 release. Between this year’s tours, they are re-recording classic thrash tracks from their first two albums, “Power And Pain” (1985) and “Ticket To Mayhem” (1987).

In late January, WHIPLASH took the stage alongside 42 heavy metal bands aboard Royal Caribbean’s “Majesty Of The Seas” as part of the 70000 Tons Of Metal cruise. Fan-filmed video footage of WHIPLASH‘s performance on the cruise can be seen below.

WHIPLASH is a three-piece power trio hailing from New Jersey. The band was assembled back in 1984 when Tony Portaro (guitar, vocals) and Scaglione joined forces, then recruited Tony Bono on bass.

“Unborn Again”, the latest album from WHIPLASH, was released in 2009 via Pulverised Records. The CD was recorded at Mozart Studio with Harris Johns. The band mixed and mastered the album at The Music Lab in Berlin, Germany. The cover artwork was created by Ed Repka (DEATH, ATHEIST, MEGADETH, NUCLEAR ASSAULT, POSSESSED).